Recording audio stream from ROS – data type error

HARK FORUM Recording audio stream from ROS – data type error

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    jm
    Participant

Hello,

I am new to Hark and I am trying to record the audio captured with a HSR robot’s built-in head microphone. The following are the parameters of the stream generated by the robot:

PARAMETERS
       * /audio/audio_capture/bitrate: 128
       * /audio/audio_capture/channels: 1
       * /audio/audio_capture/device: 
       * /audio/audio_capture/format: mp3
       * /audio/audio_capture/sample_rate: 16000
       * /rosdistro: kinetic
       * /rosversion: 1.12.14

NODES
        /audio/
          audio_capture (audio_capture/audio_capture)

I am trying to record the streamed audio with the AudioStreamFromRos node (Attached you find a screenshot of my Hark network). However, when I execute the network I get the following error message:

[ERROR] [1565594592.746777286]: Client [/MY_HARK_MASTER_NODE] wants topic /audio/audio to have datatype/md5sum [hark_msgs/HarkWave/24c5654436a3ff03c563377fdbcc56a1], but our version has [audio_common_msgs/AudioData/f43a8e1b362b75baa741461b46adc7e0]. Dropping connection.

How can I configure the node to make the data type compatible?

lapus.er
      Participant

Hi Jm,

Can you please attach the actual network file that you used.

Cheers,
        Earl

jm
        Participant

Hi,

here is the network.

jm
          Participant

Here. There was an upload error in the previous attempt.

You need to use hark_msgs/HarkWave in your workspace.
            In your case, audio_common_msgs/AudioData seems to store mp3 data into uint8[] array, so you will first need to expand it to raw PCM data.

Second, the data structure of hark_msgs/HarkWave is as follows.

user@ubuntu:~$ rosmsg show hark_msgs/HarkWave
            std_msgs/Header header
              uint32 seq
              time stamp
              string frame_id
            int32 count